Tuesday, May 26, 2015

Audio Book Review of Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

Read for: Mount TBR & Audio Challenge
Synopsis: "A tale of gods, kings, immortal fame, and the human heart, The Song of Achilles is a dazzling literary feat that brilliantly re-imagines Homer’s enduring masterwork, The Iliad. An action-packed adventure, an epic love story, Miller’s debut novel has already earned resounding acclaim from some of contemporary fiction’s brightest lights. Fans of Mary Renault, Bernard Cornwell, Steven Pressfield, and Colleen McCullough’s Masters of Rome series will delight in this unforgettable journey back to ancient Greece in the Age of Heroes."

My Review: I have had this book sitting in my audible library for some time. I had loved the Iliad when I read it in my Epic Poetry class in college. I was hoping that this would also be written in verse but unfortunately it was not. This book was told from the view point of Petroclus. While it was hinted at that Achilles was in love with him, this book takes it way into the next level. I had to quickly shut this off when Munchkin was listening with me. It was an interesting take to focus more on the time before the Trojan war and Achilles development before the fame. The final half hour of listening was probably the best of the whole book. Be forewarned though that due to the fact that this book is written from Petroclus' point of view, you don't see much of the actual war. If you go into this book thinking you are going to get a retelling of Iliad you will be sorely disappointed. I would also suggest that you listen to the audio book, I have a feeling it would be exhausting and slow reading due to the pacing of the book.
My Rating: I really waffled with this book, at times I really enjoyed it and at times the pacing got a little slow.  This really isn't the book for everyone but a very interesting viewpoint and take on classic story and myth. I give it a rating of Three Paws.
Please note that this book does portray a love between 2 men, it does at times get a little graphic but not to the extreme.


  1. Ugh. I like the Illiad too much to read it from Petroclus' point of view. He bothers me too much.

    1. It was definitely odd reading from his point of view. It really isn't a re-telling of the Iliad like I was expecting though which was a relief because I also love it and was worried about ruining the original.